Apply Now

Current Students

Kevin Firquin named new DCCC Board of Trustees Chair

July 22, 2019 – The Davidson County Community College Board of Trustees elected Kevin Firquin of Lexington to serve as Chair of the Board at its July meeting. Firquin succeeds Ken White of Advance in Davie County, who served in the role since 2014.

Kevin Firquin began his service as a board member in 2014. Previously, Firquin worked with Communities in Schools at South Davidson Middle and High Schools. He has served as a teacher, coach and school administrator in Davidson County Schools. He was additionally twice recognized as Davidson County’s Principal of the Year.

“I’m deeply humbled to accept this new and exciting responsibility,” Firquin said. “DCCC is not only a life-changing resource for personal growth in students, but stands resolute as a unifying force in the community. I look forward to the Board’s continued work to sustain and grow student and communal success.”

White will serve in the position of Vice Chair for the next year, while Julie Loflin of Denton will continue as secretary.

Other Trustees serving on the board are Jerry Black of Lexington, Melanie Crowder of Thomasville, Dr. G. Mark Davis of Lexington, Neal Foster of Advance, Kelly L. Gallimore of Thomasville, Thom Hege of Lexington, Tonya Lanier of Lexington, Dr. Barbara Leonard of Winston-Salem, Beth Parrott of Lexington, Tina Royal of Thomasville and Dr. Bill Steed of Advance.

Trustees will next be seen together publicly on August 14, when DCCC’s fourth president, Dr. Darrin L. Hartness, is formally inaugurated on the first day of classes for the 2019-2020 academic year. Hartness was sworn into office in January following a nationwide search by the Trustees, who are specifically tasked with hiring the College’s presidents.

“Our Board of Trustees is like no other,” Hartness said. “They care so passionately and personally about the success of each individual student. I know Kevin’s leadership and dedication to the college’s mission will serve him well as chair.”

The DCCC Board of Trustees is made of 15 members appointed by various entities, including the Davidson and Davie county commissioners, local school boards and the governor. DCCC student Amber Sayles, who serves as president of the student government association for the 2019-2020 academic year, serves as a non-voting member.

“I can’t wait to see how our board can continue to support the mission, vision, values and most importantly the students at DCCC,” Firquin said.

About Davidson County Community College

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is a fully accredited, multi-campus college where students of all ages and backgrounds pursue academic and career-focused education in order to build successful futures. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers more than 40 degree and professional certificate programs to students in Davidson and Davie counties, as well as affordable college-credit coursework to students who plan to transfer to 4-year universities. With a mission to serve the changing needs of students competing in a global environment, DCCC is committed to quality education, innovative and equitable learning experiences, training, and support across a wide range of 21st-century career fields. Visit Davidson County Community College at DavidsonCCC.edu.

Media Contact

Jonathan Williams
Communications Specialist
Davidson County Community College
Office: 336-224-4510